Abe & Rose Weismann

When you google Model parents or look it up in the dictionary, I hope you see Abe and Rose’s face.

Parents of the year!

They were the quirkiest but most devoted parents I have ever seen on TV.

I know, I know, its been ages since I was supposed to come here and regale you with my Marvelous Mrs. Maisel tales, but I live in Lagos, Nigeria, and most of my energy has been spent on staying alive and well.

I watched a lot of Tony Shalhoub as Monk, so I wasn’t surprised by his quirks, but his sense of humour, now that kept me coming back for more.

I can recount so many instances where they demonstrated their devotion to each other (as husband Abe and Wife Rose) and their support for Miriam (Midge).

Like when Midge told Abe, that she couldn’t take Joel back, because he left (unprovoked) and Abe understood. No questions asked. He even honored her a notch by not telling Rose, until it was impossible not to tell her because Rose wasn’t giving up hope that Joel would return. It earned him the dog house but it was for the best.

Or was it when Midge shared that she was resuming work at B.Altman and he ran through his checklist real quick – Rose can’t watch your children everyday, what is your back up plan? Are you getting paid in money? Do you have a checking and savings account to receive this money?

Or when in the last season, he expressed his regret at not recognising Miriam’s genius as much as he had his son’s because he was myopic and could only recognise one type of genius. He had done same with his grandchildren and learned that genius was not gender specific.

He was also the husband that embraced reinventing himself outside of what he had done all of his life. The one who moved all the way to France to be with Rose, after she had a middle life crisis and decided that she wanted to find herself anew.

I wish that I grew up around some of Rose’s influence. Some, because she would have frustrated me with the need to always look perfect, and I would have frustrated her with my reluctance to comply to her unreal beauty standards. But I sure would have loved to learn to keep track of my body statistics, If I had a black book that religiously recorded my stats, this potbelly that I am struggling to lose would not exist.

And she brought us Dr. Benjamin!!! She would have matchmade me by now, and saved me from the ghetto that is the current dating pool. A true entrepreneur, believing that the family is the bedrock of every society.

Shall we fail to mention her ability to negotiate. She seemed to have a knack for knowing what would make for a good bargain, which of course, Miriam picked up.

I have tried to stall mentioning her wardrobe! Gosh! The woman puts the Oriaku in housewife! Its easy to see where Miriam gets her fantastic fashion sense from. Even when they were “broke”, Rosey baby was never caught unfresh!

I know that I said Miriam is my favourite fictional character ever, but I have to give props to the “people who raised her”. This couple carried the show on some episodes with their wholesome peculiarities. They weren’t the puppets scriptwriters often make supportive parents out to be. The way they were not suck ups to Astrid’s need to please (poor Astrid :’) )

I really loved knowing Abe and Rose Weismann for all of the Mrs Maisel seasons.

Leave a comment